Interview

I interviewed Vaughn Bernard for this blog post. The reason that I chose him is because he was home schooled most of his educational career. He was home schooled starting at the beginning of his third grade year. As a person who is studying to be a teacher it is important for me to inform other future teachers of children who have been home schooled and are starting school or of children who are home schooled that they know. In this interview you will learn what it was like to be home schooled and then transition to college.

      1. Why did you become a home school student?

 

“My mom wanted to home school me since I was born, but my dad took a while to convince. I started homeschooling in 3rd grade.”

 

      2. What was it like to be home  schooled?

 

“It was nice being able to sleep in pretty much as late as I wanted. Being home schooled worked really well, I feel, until I started learning stuff that my mom did not know well, like upper-level high school science and math.”

 

      3.How did your typical school day look?

 

“I would wake up at around ten o’clock, then walk to the classroom in my house and start school with mom. We would do the work that we could do together, then I would do my independent work, which was mostly quizzes and videos to watch. Then I would be done around two, assuming I started at ten. Sometimes I would sleep in until around noon and finish around four.”

 

4. If you could go back to when you were in third grade and could choose to stay in school or be home schooled what would you choose and why?

 

“I would definitely choose to be home schooled like I was. I really enjoyed being home schooled.”

 

5. What did you do when you were home schooled as extracurricular activities?

 

“I was part of an FLL robotics team. I also played soccer while I was younger.”

 

6. If you could change one thing about being home schooled what would it be?

 

“I would probably use something different for the higher-level high school subjects; I don’t feel like I retained much past Trigonometry for math, even though I made it to Calculus 2. I have no idea what I would do instead, though.”

 

       7. What was it like for you when you started college?

 

“The transition was much easier for me than everyone thought it would be. The hardest part was being introverted and trying to make friends.”

 

      8. When you have kids yourself would you send them to public school or home school them and why?

 

“I would like them to be home schooled probably up until high school, then I would let them choose.”

 

Leave a Reply

